If you are convicted of a DUI in Maryland and it is your first offense, there are various penalties that you may face. If you are convicted of a first offense DUI, then you face up to 1 year in jail and a minimum of $1000 in fines. You could also lose your driving privileges for up to 270 days. You may also be placed on probation and be required to undergo treatment.
Because a DUI charge is serious, you should contact the Largo Maryland DUI lawyers from Thompson Legal Group to discuss your options and possible defenses.
What are some defenses to a DUI?
In order to be convicted of a DUI, the legal elements must be proven beyond a reasonable doubt. The prosecution must be able to show that your alcohol level exceeded the legal limit and that you were in actual physical control of a vehicle.
The reliability of a breath test or other evidentiary testing may be challenged if the police officer failed to comply with the required procedures. These procedures are complex, but Maryland DUI lawyers know what to look for and how to address issues that are identified.
A DUI charge may also be challenged if the police lacked reasonable suspicion of a traffic violation, thus justifying stopping your vehicle. The police must be able to specify the reason why you were pulled over. If they cannot do this, then the case could be dismissed.
How can an attorney help?
Our criminal defense law firm in Maryland can review your case to identify possible deficiencies and develop a solid defense. We’ll also help you better understand what to expect. Our attorneys, located in Maryland, will advocate to protect your rights and achieve a fair result.
If you are facing a DUI charge in Maryland, then contact Thompson Legal Group to speak with one of our experienced attorneys today.