Driving under the influence of alcohol is a crime in Maryland, and it is one that is taken seriously. Every 58 hours a Marylander is killed by a drunk driver, click here for additional statistics. The state has put tremendous resources into countering this scourge, and if you have been arrested on suspicion of this offense you will need a lawyer. DUI lawyers in Maryland know the law and can help ensure that you are treated fairly by the authorities.
Drinking and Driving in Maryland
In Maryland, there are 2 levels of drinking and driving. To meet the criterion for a DUI, your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) must be .08. A driving while intoxicated (DWI) charge is less severe. You can be charged with this crime if your BAC is .07.
Maryland also has a zero-tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving. If you are under the age of 21 and you blow a BAC of .02, you can still be charged with DUI.
Commercial drivers are held to a higher standard. The driver of a truck, bus, or other commercial vehicle cannot exceed a .04 BAC.
The consequences of being convicted of DUI in Maryland are serious. They include fines, jail and prison time, license suspension, and more. Here are a few examples.
1. For a first offense DUI, you can spend up to a year in jail and be forced to pay a $1,000 fine.
2. A second offense conviction comes with up to two years in jail and a $2,000 fine.
3. A third offense can mean up to 3 years in jail and a $3,000 fine.
Why You Should Call a DUI Lawyer
DUI attorneys Maryland know the ins and outs of DUI law. If you are arrested on the charge of DUI, you should not try to handle the matter yourself. Thompson Legal Group are DUI lawyers in Maryland who specialize in helping people who have been arrested for this crime. Calling the DUI attorneys Maryland at Thompson Legal Group will give you options for dealing with a DUI charge. Contact our office today to get the help you need.